To be abundantly clear: there probably really should have been 1.2 seconds on the clock at the end.
The issue though, is that not changing the clock during the stoppage immediately following the dead ball is against the rules, and if you are going to bend those rules, it’s a very slippery slope.
If we can now go back 2 plays and adjust the clock in the final seconds, can we now go back 3, 4, or even 5 plays? When Fred called a timeout with 24 seconds left, should we go back and review that to make sure we go the exact amount of time?
This is akin to a football coach throwing the challenge flag on 3rd down for a call that was made on 1st down. It would never be allowed. It’s just flat out wrong and immoral.
If they were going to change the clock, that MUST have been done during the free throws. The moment the second free throw left Sam’s fingertips, the clock from the previous possession is obsolete.