Game Thread - Nebraska v USC (Saturday, November 1, 6:30pm NBC) | Page 17 | The Platinum Board

Game Thread Nebraska v USC (Saturday, November 1, 6:30pm NBC)

Install the app
How to install the app on iOS

Follow along with the video below to see how to install our site as a web app on your home screen.

Note: This feature may not be available in some browsers.

Welcome to tPB!

Welcome to The Platinum Board. We are a Nebraska Husker news source and fan community.

Sign Up Now!
  • Welcome to The Platinum Board! We are a Nebraska Cornhuskers news source and community. Please click "Log In" or "Register" above to gain access to the forums.

Game Thread Nebraska v USC (Saturday, November 1, 6:30pm NBC)

Schedule detail

Nov 25, 2025 at 12:00 PM
  • Unstick thread
  1. Seaofred92 Seaofred92
Looked full retard but I also thought the RB being in the area absolves the intentional grounding. If he’s blocking does he still count as an eligible receiver?
Good question — and this goes straight into the intentional grounding rule under NCAA football rules.


Here’s the short and clear answer:




🏈​




⚖️​


A forward pass is illegal (intentional grounding) if the passer, to conserve yardage or avoid a sack, throws the ball where there is no eligible receiver in the area or the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, unless it is an immediate spike after the snap.



🔍 In your scenario:​


  • The QB is “in the grasp” — so the pass is clearly an attempt to avoid a sack.
  • If he just throws the ball into the ground directly in front of himself, that’s considered intentional grounding, even if a back is “in the area,” because:
    1. The ball didn’t reach the line of scrimmage, and
    2. The action was not a legitimate attempt to complete a pass (it’s seen as avoidance).
 
They should literally run every play until we stop it. Not sure why they’re not.
Flashbacks of 2007
uschole1.jpg
 
This defense has been very good against this offense. Especially with some of our boneheaded defensive fronts. Offense needs to fucking play ball. Stop protecting your 3 million dollar qb!
 
Good question — and this goes straight into the intentional grounding rule under NCAA football rules.


Here’s the short and clear answer:




🏈​




⚖️​






🔍 In your scenario:​


  • The QB is “in the grasp” — so the pass is clearly an attempt to avoid a sack.
  • If he just throws the ball into the ground directly in front of himself, that’s considered intentional grounding, even if a back is “in the area,” because:
    1. The ball didn’t reach the line of scrimmage, and
    2. The action was not a legitimate attempt to complete a pass (it’s seen as avoidance).
This clears it up thanks
 
Back
Top